W League Announces Full Fixture Schedule For 2020/21

After last week’s announcement of two blockbuster fixtures over the Christmas and New Year period, the full Westfield W League fixture schedule for the 2020/21 season was announced yesterday. Ben Gilby picks out the key games and dates.

Last week we discovered that on the opening day of the new season, 27th December there will be a W League/A League (Australian men’s top tier) double header at Parramatta’s 30,000 seater Bankwest Stadium with Western Sydney Wanderers, one of last season’s breakthrough sides, hosting Melbourne Victory.

Above: Melbourne City celebrate winning last season’s Grand Final. There will be a re-run of that game on 30th December. Photo: @MelbourneCity

Three days later there will a hugely significant double header at ANZ Stadium, Sydney’s 83,500 capacity Olympic Stadium where Sydney FC will take on Melbourne City in a repeat of last year’s Westfield W League Grand Final. On the same day, the same two team’s A League sides will also face off.

Yesterday we also were given the news that 16th January will see a Sydney FC v Western Sydney Wanderers double header derby in the W League/A League at ANZ Stadium with yet another opportunity for a big crowd.

There has been one final blockbuster match announced as Western Sydney Wanderers’ W League clash with Melbourne Victory will take place on the same day in the same venue as the first ever A League derby between Western Sydney Wanderers and newcomers Macarthur FC.

The full opening round of fixtures – played between 27th-30th December – sees Western Sydney Wanderers host Melbourne Victory, Sydney FC at home to Melbourne City, Newcastle Jets v Brisbane Roar and Perth Glory at home to Canberra United with Adelaide United having the bye.

The New Year round of games (Round Two) has Newcastle Jets at home to Adelaide United, Melbourne City host Western Sydney Wanderers, Canberra United welcoming Sydney FC to Viking Park and Brisbane Roar taking on Perth Glory.

Above: Perth Glory (right) may well be fielding a very different looking side this season. Photo: @WSWanderers.

Other key fixtures sees the Melbourne derby taking place on 28th January with City hosting Victory, and Sydney FC travel to Melbourne Victory on 7th February. Canberra United, thought by some to be in with a chance of glory this season face reigning champions Melbourne City on 21st February.

The final round of regular season matches is scheduled for the period between 25th and 28th March. Brisbane Roar will welcome Canberra United to Dolphin Stadium, Adelaide United will be at home to Melbourne City, Western Sydney Wanderers host Perth Glory and Newcastle Jets travel to Melbourne Victory.

Impetus’ W League and Australian Women’s Soccer Coverage 2020/21:

  • Part of our overall site redesign – our coverage will be bigger and better than ever – a full round-up each week of matches with photos, plus our soon to be revealed new Australian correspondent reporting exclusively for the site on one match a week.
  • Don’t miss next week, we will begin our review on each team’s squads ahead of kick-off.
  • In the build up to the new season starting, we will have an exclusive interview with a Matildas World Cup and Olympics star!
  • Continuing our look at the game Down Under in light of the award of the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup – features on players, clubs, grassroots clubs and interviews with Australian journalists and sport officials!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: